The National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism advises and makes recommendations to the Secretary, HHS; the Director, NIH; and the Director, NIAAA; on research program and policy matters in the field of alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

The Council is comprised of 15 members appointed by the Secretary and 5 nonvoting ex-officio members: the HHS Secretary; the NIH Director; the NIAAA Director; the Chief Medical Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs; the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs; and any additional officers or employees of the United States as the Secretary determines necessary for the Council to effectively carry out its functions. Of the 15 appointed members, 10 are required to be leaders in health and scientific disciplines relevant to the activities of the NIAAA. At least 2 of these 10 individuals must be leaders in the fields of public health and the behavioral or social sciences. Additionally, the Secretary appoints five members from among the fields of public policy, law, health policy, economics, and management.

The NIAAA Extramural Advisory Board is a subcommittee of the Council composed of Council Members and ad hoc experts who review various areas of research in the alcohol field and make recommendations on research priorities for the institute to consider.

2017:  May 3
2018:  May 16 




Advisory Council Roster

(Terms end 10/31 of designated year)



Koob, George F., PhD 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-9304


Albizu-Garcia, Carmen E., M.D.                            2019
Professor, Department of Health Services Administration
Center for Evaluation and Sociomedical Research
Department of Health Services Administration
University of Puerto Rico
San Juan, PR

Baxter, Louis E., SR., M.D.                               Ad Hoc
President and Executive Medical Director
Professional Assistance Program of New Jersey, Inc.
Princeton, NJ

Calac, Daniel J., M.D.                                       Ad Hoc
Chief Medical Officer
Indian Health Council, Inc.
Valley Center, CA

Casey, Carol A., Ph.D.*                                       2017
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine and Biochemistry
University of Nebraska Research Service
Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Omaha, NE

Di Clemente, Carlo C., Ph.D.                                2018
Director, Center for Community Collaboration, Capacity Building for HIV Agencies
Professor, Department of Psychology
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Baltimore, MD

Donaldson, Tom B.                                              2019
President and CEO
National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
Washington, DC

Dopico, Alex M., M.D., Ph.D.      Ad Hoc
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, TN

Eberwine, James H., Ph.D.                                  2018
Elmer Holmes Bobst Professor of Pharmacology
Department of Systems Pharmacology and
  Experimental Therapeutics,
School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Flies-Away, Joseph Thomas, J.D.*                       2017
Chief Justice
Hualapai Nation Court of Appeals
Consultant, Tribal Law & Policy Institute
Peach Springs, AZ

Foroud, Tatiana M., Ph.D.                                   2019
Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics
Indiana University - Purdue University at Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Gruenewald, Paul J., Ph.D.*                                2017
Scientific Director and Senior Research Scientist
Prevention Research Center
Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation
Berkeley, CA

Hitzemann, Robert J., Ph.D.                            Ad Hoc
Professor and Chair
Department of Behavioral Neuroscience
School of Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR 97201

Kenny, Paul J., Ph.D.                                          2018
Ward-Coleman Professor and Chairman
Laboratory of Behavioral & Molecular Neuroscience
Department of Pharmacology & Systems Therapeutics Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY

Martinez, Joe L., Jr., Ph.D.                                  2019
Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology
The University of Illinois at Chicago
Oak Park, IL 

Mattson Weller, Sarah N., Ph.D.*                         2017
Department of Psychology
Center for Behavioral Teratology
San Diego State University
San Diego, CA

Messing, Robert O., M.D.*                                   2017
Vice Provost for Biomedical Sciences
Associate Director, Waggoner Center for Alcohol
  and Addiction Research
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX

Molina, Patricia E., Ph.D., M.D.*                           2017
Ashman Professor of Physiology
Department of Physiology
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, LA

Pfefferbaum, Adolf, M.D.                                     2017
Neuroscience Program
SRI International
Menlo Park, CA 

Sanyal, Arun J., M.B.B.S., M.D.                           2019
Charles Caravati Professor of Medicine
Director, Education Core
Center for Clinical and Translational Research
Medical College of Virginia
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA

Shah, Vijay H., M.D.                                        Ad Hoc
Professor, Medicine & Physiology and Chair
Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Department of Internal Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Sinha, Rajita, Ph.D.                                             2017
Foundations Fund Professor of Psychiatry,
Neurobiology and Child Study
Chief, Psychology Section in Psychiatry
Director, Yale Interdisciplinary Stress Center
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT

Sloan, Frank A., Ph.D.                                         2019
J. Alexander McMahon Professor of Health Policy
  and Management and Professor of Economics
  of Health Policy and Management
Professor of Economics
Duke University
Durham, NC

Smith, Susan M., Ph.D.                                   Ad Hoc
Department of Nutritional
David H Murdoch Nutrition Research Institute
School of Public Health
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kannapolis, NC 

Weisner, Constance M., Dr.P.H., M.S.W.              2019
Department of Psychiatry
Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 


*Member Extended Until March 2017



The Honorable Thomas E. Price, M.D.
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC 

Collins, Francis S., M.D., Ph.D.
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Drexler, Karen G., M.D.
Deputy National Mental Health Program Director,
Addictive Disorders
Department of Psychiatry
Mental Health Service Line
Veteran Administration Medical Center-Atlanta
Decatur, GA

Milliken, Charles S., M.D.
Principal Investigator
Department of Psychiatry
Division of Neuroscience
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Silver Spring, MD



Bautista, Abraham P., Ph.D.
Executive Secretary
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892  


Update: December 15, 2016