The National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism advises and makes recommendations to the Secretary, HHS; the Director, NIH; and the Director, NIAAA; on research program and policy matters in the field of alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

The Council comprises 15 members appointed by the Secretary and 5 nonvoting ex-officio members: the HHS Secretary; the NIH Director; the NIAAA Director; the Chief Medical Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs; the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs; and any additional officers or employees of the United States as the Secretary determines necessary for the Council to effectively carry out its functions. Of the 15 appointed members, 10 are required to be leaders in health and scientific disciplines relevant to the activities of the NIAAA. At least 2 of these 10 individuals must be leaders in the fields of public health and the behavioral or social sciences. Additionally, the Secretary appoints five members from among the fields of public policy, law, health policy, economics, and management.

The NIAAA Extramural Advisory Board is a subcommittee of the Council composed of Council Members and ad hoc experts who review various areas of research in the alcohol field and make recommendations on research priorities for the institute to consider.

2020:  February 6  |  May 12  |  September 10

2021:  February 4  |  May 11  |  September 9

2022:  February 10  |  May 10  |  September 8

2023:  February 9  |  May 9  |  September 7

2024:  February 8  |  May 14  |  September 12


          2020:  May 13
          2021:  May 12
          2022:  May 11
          2023:  May 10
          2024:  May 15




Advisory Council Roster

(Terms end 10/31 of designated year)



Koob, George F., PhD 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-9304



Albizu-Garcia, Carmen E., M.D.                                         2019
Professor, Department of Health Services Administration
Center for Evaluation and Sociomedical Research
Department of Health Services Administration
University of Puerto Rico
San Juan, PR

Baxter, Louis E., SR., M.D.                                                2020
President and Executive Medical Director
Professional Assistance Program of New Jersey, Inc.
Princeton, NJ

Calac, Daniel J., M.D.                                                        2020
Chief Medical Officer
Indian Health Council, Inc.
Valley Center, CA

Becker, Jill, Ph.D.                                                                2022
Biopsychology Area Chair
Patricia Y. Gurin Collegiate Professor of Psychology
Research Professor Molecular &
Behavioral Neuroscience Institute
Ann Arbor, MI
University of Michigan

Donaldson, Tom B.                                                             2019
President and CEO
National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
Washington, DC

Dopico, Alex M., M.D., Ph.D.                                              2020
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, TN

Foroud, Tatiana M., Ph.D.                                                  2019
Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics
Indiana University - Purdue University at Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Hitzemann, Robert J., Ph.D.                                               2020
Department of Behavioral Neuroscience
School of Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR 97201

Horgan, Constance, Sc.D.                                                   2022
Professor and Director, Institute for Behavioral Health
Heller School for Social Policy and Management
Brandeis University
Waltham, MA

Martinez, Joe L., Jr., Ph.D.                                                2019
Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology
The University of Illinois at Chicago
Oak Park, IL

Russo, Scott, Ph.D.                                                            2022
Professor, Neuroscience
Director, Center for Affective Neuroscience
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY

Sanyal, Arun J., M.B.B.S., M.D.                                       2019
Charles Caravati Professor of Medicine
Director, Education Core
Center for Clinical and Translational Research
Medical College of Virginia
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA

Shah, Vijay H., M.D.                                                        2020
Professor, Medicine & Physiology and Chair
Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Department of Internal Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Sloan, Frank A., Ph.D.                                                    2019
J. Alexander McMahon Professor of
Health Policy and Management and 
Professor of Economics 
Duke University
Durham, NC

Smith, Susan M., Ph.D.                                                  2020
Department of Nutritional
David H Murdoch Nutrition Research Institute
School of Public Health
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kannapolis, NC

Sullivan, Edith V., Ph.D.                                                 2021
Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA

Weisner, Constance M., Dr.P.H., M.S.W.                      2019
Department of Psychiatry
Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA



The Honorable Azar II, Alex M., J.D.
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC

Collins, Francis S., M.D., Ph.D.
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Drexler, Karen G., M.D.
Deputy National Mental Health Program Director,
Addictive Disorders
Department of Psychiatry
Mental Health Service Line
Veteran Administration Medical Center-Atlanta
Decatur, GA

Milliken, Charles S., M.D.
Principal Investigator
Department of Psychiatry
Division of Neuroscience
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Silver Spring, MD



Bautista, Abraham P., Ph.D.
Executive Secretary
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892


Updated August 2019