Skip to main content


National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Offices and Divisions

Updated: 2024

NIAAA is made up of five divisions and four offices. An organizational chart is available here.

Office of the Director, NIAAA

The Office of the Director leads the Institute by setting research and programmatic priorities and coordinating cross-cutting initiatives. The Office includes:

  • Office of Extramural Activities, Director: Dr. Philippe R Marmillot
    The Office of Extramural Activities is responsible for extramural grant and contract review, the management of chartered initial review groups and special emphasis panels, and all grants management activities. OEA also manages the Committee Management Office—responsible for advisory council activities and nominations to advisory and review panels—and provides advice to the Institute's senior leadership on matters that concern FACA (Federal Advisory Committee Act) and non-FACA meetings.
  • Office of Science Policy and Communications, Director: Dr. Bridget Williams-Simmons 
    The Office of Science Policy and Communications is responsible for science policy, planning, evaluation and reporting functions for NIAAA; and the preparation of briefing materials on alcohol research. Additionally, the office coordinates all media relations, produces materials for scientific and lay audiences, and acts as the public face of the Institute.
  • Office of Resource Management, Director: Ms. Vicki Buckley
    The Office of Resource Management provides administrative management support to the Institute in the areas of financial management, grants and contracts management, administrative services, and personnel operations; (2) develops administrative management policies, procedures, guidelines, and operations; (3) maintains liaison with the management staff of the Office of the Director and implements within the Institute general management policies prescribed by NIH and higher authorities.


NIAAA’s divisions manage the Institute’s intramural and extramural basic and clinical research.

  • Division of Intramural Clinical and Biological Research, Scientific Director: Dr. David Lovinger; Clinical Director: Dr. David Goldman
    The Division of Intramural Clinical and Biological Research seeks to understand the mechanisms by which alcohol produces intoxication, dependence, and damage to vital body organs, and to develop tools to prevent and treat those biochemical and behavioral processes.
  • Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research, Director: Dr. Ralph Hingson
    The Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research (DEPR) promotes and supports applied, translational, and methodological research on the epidemiology and prevention of hazardous alcohol consumption and related behaviors, alcohol use disorder, alcohol-related mortality and morbidity, and other alcohol-related problems and consequences.
  • Division of Metabolism and Health EffectsDirector: Dr. Kathy Jung
    The Division of Metabolism and Health Effects (DMHE) develops scientific initiatives and supports basic and translational research on the health consequences of alcohol consumption and metabolism.
  • Division of Neuroscience and Behavior, Director: Dr. Antonio Noronha
    The Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (DNB) promotes research on ways in which neuronal and behavioral systems are influenced by genetic, developmental, and environmental factors in conjunction with alcohol exposure to engender alcohol use disorder (AUD).
  • Division of Treatment and Recovery, Director: Dr. Raye Litten
    The Division of Treatment and Recovery (DTR) focuses on developing treatments for alcohol use disorder (AUD), increasing their use in real-word settings, and understanding the process of recovery as individuals make progress in overcoming AUD. DTR is comprised of two branches: the Medications Development Branch (MDB) and the Treatment, Health Services, and Recovery Branch (THSRB).
Looking for U.S. government information and services?