Division of Intramural Clinical and Biological Research

Full Text Version   September 2022

Organizational Chart Description


Office of the Scientific Director

David M. Lovinger, PhD, Acting Scientific Director
David M. Lovinger, PhD, Deputy Scientific Director

Office of Laboratory Animal Sciences

Raouf Kechrid, DVM, PhD, Chief


Board of Scientific Counselors


Office of Clinical Director

David Goldman MD, Clinical Director

  • Clinical Core Laboratory
    David Goldman MD, Chief
  • Clinical Neuroimaging Research Core Laboratory
    Reza Momenan, PhD, Director
  • Section on Clinical Genomics and Experimental Therapeutics (CGET)
    Falk Lohoff, MD, Acting Chief
  • Laboratory on Human Psychpharmacology (HP)
    Vijay Ramchandani, PhD, Chief
  • Laboratory on Clinical Psychoneuroendocrinology and Neuropsychopharmacology (CPN)
    Joint laboratory of National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) and National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
    Lorenzo Leggio, MD/PhD/MSc, Chief
  • Section of Sensory Science and Metabolism (SSSM)
    Paule Joseph, Ph.D., MS, FNP-BC, CTN-B, Acting Chief
  • Section on Fibrotic Disorders (SFD)
    Resat Cinar, Ph.D., Acting Chief
  • Section on Medicinal Chemistry (SMC)
    Malliga Iyer, Ph.D., Acting Chief


Laboratory on Cardiovascular Physiology & Tissue Injury (LCPTI)

Pal Pacher, MD, PhD, Chief


Section of Molecular Pharmacology & Toxicology (SMPT)

Byoung J. Song, PhD, Chief


Laboratory of Neurogenetics (LNG)

David Goldman, MD, Chief


Laboratory for Integrative Neuroscience (LIN)

David M. Lovinger, PhD, Chief

  • Unit on Motivation and Arousal (UMA)
    Andrew Kesner, Ph.D., Unit Chief

Laboratory on the Neurobiology of Compulsive Behavior (LNCB)

Veronica Alvarez, PhD, Chief


Laboratory of Physiologic Studies (LPS)

George Kunos, MD/PhD, Chief


Laboratory of Biophotonics and Quantum Biology (LBQB)

Steven S. Vogel, PhD,  Chief


Laboratory of Neuroimaging (LNI)

Nora D. Volkow, MD, Chief


Laboratory of Behavioral and Genomic Neuroscience (LBGN)

Andrew Holmes, PhD, Chief


Laboratory of Molecular Signaling (LMS)

Hee-Yong Kim, PhD, Chief


Laboratory of Liver Diseases (LLD)

Bin Gao, MD/PhD, Chief


Section on Neural Circuits (SNC)

Michelle Antoine, Ph.D., Acting Chief


Chemical Biological Research Branch (CBRB)   

Joint laboratory of National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) and National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Kenner Rice, PhD, Chief